FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?

We emphasize safe, effective and fun horsemanship with harmony between horse and human.

Winning Strides is a private facility that offers horse boarding, riding lessons, summer riding camps, and clinics/seminars. We strive to provide a friendly and relaxed environment. We are located on 160 acres of grass land. Mosquito Creek loops through our fields and there is a great view of Alberta’s amazing Rocky Mountains from our doorstep.

Meet Our Staff

We have knowledgeable, experienced and dedicated certified instructors who are keen to share their love of riding. Hover over Instructor names for full bios and contact info.
Laurie Messner

Laurie Messner

Owner

Photo Credit: Shannon Lawlor
Phone: (403) 371-9921

Randy Patton

Randy Patton

Owner

Phone: (403) 312-7012

Sarah Olsen

Sarah Olsen

Instructor

Photo Credit: Natalie Jackman
Ph: (403) 603-8062

Sarah’s formative years were immersed in the strong ranching lifestyle well known to southern Alberta. She completed all levels of 4-H Horsemanship and became a 4-H Leader before taking formal training in Equine Science with a major in Coaching at Olds College. Sarah is certified through Equine Canada as an Instructor of Beginners as well as CHA (Certified Horsemanship Association) Level 1 Instructor of Riders with Disabilities.

Being an instructor is a great passion for Sarah. She thoroughly enjoys seeing her students of all levels improve and connect with their horses as they too continue to learn and grow in the arena.

Starting colts, conditioning and advancing horses have become a part of Sarah’s extensive repertoire. She currently competes in open shows in Western, English, Reining and Working Cow Horse. All the while staying current and frequenting horsemanship and judging clinics.

Kelsey Fath

Kelsey Fath

Instructor

Ph: (403) 485-1018

Currently Kelsey Fath is enrolled in the 2-year Equine Science program at Olds College. She is in the process of completing her final year of formal education, majoring in the Coaching Program. Kelsey’s background with horses includes being a proud 4H member of the Stavely Stampeders for 9 years. Her 4H projects were Western horsemanship, English horsemanship, and young horse. In high school, Kelsey worked four summers in Fort Macleod at the Fort Macleod Museum as a Mounted Patrol Rider, riding with other young people her age and meeting people from all over the world. One of the highlights of this job was introducing kids to horses and answering their many questions. After high school she worked as a pen rider at Western Feedlots for 1 ½ years. In addition, Kelsey is a member of the Alberta Paint Horse Club. She spent a summer working as an assistant trainer at Salt N Pepper Paints near Blackie showing young horses. Kelsey continues to live on the family farm near Stavely where she grew up. Kelsey enjoys sharing her passion for horses with her many nieces and nephews. She likes to compete in gymkhana events and work cattle with her family. It is an honor and privilege to have Kelsey back joining the staff at Winning Strides. This opportunity will enhance her career by helping young riders develop their horsemanship skills and knowledge. It is her vision to help people from all walks of life, learn to appreciate and love horses as much as she does.

Ronda Cann

Ronda Cann

Instructor

Ronda is excited to be joining the Winning Strides instructor’s team. Her goals as a coach are to continue to learn and develop new skills, to inspire her students to aim high, and to succeed in developing their riding experience in a safe and effective manner. She is also excited about furthering her own goals of returning to the show ring and watching her two children embark on their own horsemanship journey. Ronda’s passion for horses began at the age of nine while growing up in Boston, Massachusetts. There she had to become a working student in order to ride, and would ride any horse she could. This developed her passion for training young horses and making them into top quality show horses. She has over 25 years of riding and teaching experience specializing in hunter/jumpers, basic level dressage and has competed all over the New England area. While attending University, Ronda began to focus on developing her horsemanship skills by taking them to the next level. She began working with top collegiate coaches to top grand prix riders. From 1998 to 2001, she worked for John and BZ Madden to learn the highest level of competition in order to excel to that next level. She then had to return to school. In 2002 Ronda obtained her B.Sc. in Chemistry, then married and moved to Canada. In 2004, she pursued her training and teaching career in Canada by starting her own business. She began developing young horses for the show ring and teaching beginners to advanced riders all throughout northern Alberta. Ronda has also coached pony clubs and has held multiple clinics with a focus on foundation, horsemanship and centered riding. Ronda’s mantra is ‘The horse always has something to teach us, if we are willing to listen.’ The passion that drives Ronda to teach is to help people better understand their horses through effective classical riding and horsemanship. By teaching the foundations she is able to work with a variety of students from beginners to advanced riders, in and out of the show ring. In 2013 Ronda became an Equine Assisted Learning Facilitator (EAL) EAL is a program that uses objective led exercises to build leadership skills, develop better communication, and establish self-confidence all while working on the ground with the horse. She has prepared and developed customized programs for groups and individuals and looks forward to developing more programs at Winning Strides.

Links

The links we recommend here are organizations and products that we subscribe to and have experience with. We hope these web links will be helpful!

Horse Care Magazine: www.horsecaremagazine.com
Blaze Magazine: www..blazekids.com
Horses All: www.horsesall.com
Equine Trader: www.equine-trader.com
Eclectic Horseman: www.eclectic-horseman.com
Stable Management: www.stable-management.com
Western Horse Review: www.westernhorsereview.com
Western Horseman: www.westernhorseman.com

Foothills SNAPS: www.foothillssnaps.com
Foothills Fetal Alcohol Society: www.foothillsfas.com
Certified Horsemanship Association: www.cha-ahse.org
Alberta Equestrian Federation: www.albertaequestrian.com
Alberta Reined Cow Horse Association: www.albertareinedcowhorse.ca
National Reined Cow Horse Association: www.nrcha.com
Competitive Trail Riding: www.trailriding.ab.ca

Elliott Bits & Spurs: www.elliottbitandspur.com
Kim Taylor: www.kimtaylor.com
Shannon Lawlor: www.shannonlawlor.com
Richard Caldwell: www.vaquerohorseman.com
Dr. Deb Bennett: www.equinestudies.org
April Clay: www.bodymindmotion.com
Julie Goodnight: www.juliegoodnight.com
Josh Nichol: www.joshnichol.com
Grant MacKinnon, Mackinnon Equine Services: www.mackinnonequineservices.com

Spruce Meadows: www.sprucemeadows.com
Okotoks Agricultural Society: www.okotoksag.com
Chimney Rock Bed & Breakfast: www.bbalberta.com/chimneyrock

Sam’s Western Outlet: www.samwesternoutlet.com
Cowboy Country Clothing: www.cowboystuf.com
Two W Livestock Equipment: www.two-w.com
Frontier Western Shop: www.westernshop.com
Cattlemens Corner: www.cattlemenscorner.ca
Magnum Trailer Sales: www.magnumtrailersales.com

TOP